Transparency report

 

Some of the best coffees we drink worldwide are made in Colombia.

Nevertheless, for the coffee farmer the production of these coffee specialties unfortunately not always is a good deal. The money they receive from selling coffee sometimes is not even enough to generate a sustainable income for the farmers and their families. This is because coffee farmers are often paid a unified price for their product, regardless of the quality of their coffee. The price is mostly based on the world market price for coffee. To make a comparison: In wine, no one would think of pouring all of the wines into one pot, regardless of their variety or origin, and then charging one price for all of it. Unfortunately, that is exactly the case with coffee. The fair trade price lies above the world market price for coffee, but in our view it is not substantial enough.

At José Opita Café we want to support our coffee growing partners with our company and maintain a partnership that is beneficial for everyone. Our customers, because they receive excellent coffee from us. To us, because we contribute to the cultural and culinary diversity of Switzerland and Europe, and to our coffee farmers, to whom we can offer other, more attractive sales channels.

Below you will find detailed information on the purchase prices, the origin and the quality of our coffees. We follow the reporting standard " The Pledge ", which raises transparency in coffee to a new level.

DJI_0009.JPG

Obando, San Agustín, Huila, Colombia

20200210_101752.jpg

San Isidro, La Plata, Huila, Colombia

Transparenzbericht

 

Einige der besten Kaffees, die wir weltweit trinken, werden in Kolumbien hergestellt.

Dennoch ist die Herstellung dieser Kaffeespezialitäten für die Kaffeebauern leider
nicht immer ein gutes Geschäft. 
Das Geld, das sie aus dem Kaffeeverkauf erhalten reicht zuweilen nicht einmal, um einen entsprechenden Gewinn generieren, mit dem die Bauern für sich und ihre Familien sorgen können. Das liegt daran, das den Kaffeebauern oft unabhängig von der Qualität Ihres Kaffees ein Einheitspreis bezahlt wird. Dieser orientiert sich am Weltmarktpreis für Kaffee.  Um einen Vergleich heranzuziehen: Bei Wein käme niemand auf die Idee, alle Weine unabhängig von der Sorte oder der Herkunft in einen Topf zu giessen und mit einem Preis zu bewerten. Bei Kaffee ist leider genau das der Fall. Der Fair Trade Preis liegt über dem Weltmarketpreis von Kaffee, jedoch aus unserer Sicht nicht wesentlich genug.

Wir von José Opita Café möchten unsere Partner im Kaffeeanbau mit unserem Unternehmen unterstützen und eine Partnerschaft pflegen, von der alle profitieren. Unsere Kunden, da sie exzellenten Kaffee von uns erhalten. Wir, da wir zur kulturellen und kulinarischen Vielfalt der Schweiz und Europas beitragen und unsere Kaffeebauern, denen wir andere, attraktivere Absatzkanäle bieten können.

Unten finden Sie detaillierte Informationen zu den Einkaufspreisen, der Herkunft und der Qualität unserer Kaffees. Wir folgen dem Reportingstandard „The Pledge“, der Transparenz im Kaffee auf ein neues Niveau hebt.

DJI_0009.JPG

Obando, San Agustín, Huila, Kolumbien

20200210_101752.jpg

San Isidro, La Plata, Huila, Kolumbien